Uncategorized

Nerd Life Sets In

image

My month of fun is coming to an end, it’s time to do what I came here to do: study my little heart out. It’s time to let my inner nerd shine. I have to say, after working for the past two years, it’s difficult to get back into the swing of things. I’ve become so used to going to work during the day and doing whatever I please in the evening. It’s definitely time I get out of that mindset. It’s now back to student life I go.

I’m so nervous and excited all at the same time about going back to school. I went to see one of my profs today to pick his brain about an assignment and he actually laughed at me because of how much of a keener I am (I had my textbooks in hand for his class). He just doesn’t know how I got by in university. I barely ever read the required readings. It’s so easy to just throw all these required readings at students but when you have 5 classes, assignments AND real life, it’s a bit hard to get all of that in. I really do want to give this all I’ve got. Even if I get made fun of…by my prof! He also made fun of me because he picked up on the fact that I’m a perfectionist. I’m beginning to wonder if I’m not supposed to be a keener or a perfectionist. Hmmmm…

My first official class is tomorrow (eeeek!). My program only has 7 people including myself. It’s quite a small group of people. I actually think it’ll be better because there will be more focus on each student. Additionally, I’ll really get to know my course mates and professors very well. I’m finally not going to be a number! Surprisingly, I’m really happy about that. I guess I could’ve always made myself not a number by actually approaching my professors, but I never exactly needed to. And I think we’re too into technology that people would much rather communicate via e-mail rather than face-to-face. This is going to be a big change for me, definitely something I’m not used to, however, it’ll be a change for the better.

Time for some beauty sleep…I’m actually getting sick 😦

Stay fabulous (it’s cool to be a nerd)!

Leave a Reply

